No-Fish-Sauce with Seaweed

Vegetarian and Vegan Alternative to Fish Sauce

Under the name “No-Fish-Sauce”, or written as “No Fish Sauce”, several manufacturers offer vegetarian and vegan alternatives to classic fish sauce. These are are usually made from seaweed or algae combined with soy sauce.

You can find No-Fish-Sauce in health food stores, drugstores, and occasionally in Asian supermarkets.

You can also prepare this vegetarian fish sauce quite easily yourself. My recipe for homemade No-Fish-Sauce shows you how.